Board of Directors

Leslie Van de Walle HEC

Non-Executive Chairman

Leslie Van de Walle became a Non-Executive Director in October 2010 and became Non-Executive Chairman on 1 February 2011. He is also Chairman of the Nominations Committee. He is Non-Executive Chairman of Robert Walters plc and a Non-Executive Director of Cape plc and DCC plc. Formerly Chief Executive Officer of Rexam plc, Executive Vice President of Global Retail, a division of Royal Dutch Shell plc and a Non-Executive Director of Aegis Group plc and Aviva plc. Formerly held a number of senior management positions with Cadbury Schweppes plc and United Biscuits Limited.


Stuart Mitchell BSc

Chief Executive

Stuart Mitchell joined SIG on 1 December 2012 as Chief Executive Designate, was appointed a Director of the Company on 10 December 2012 and became Chief Executive on 1 March 2013. Most recently he was Chief Executive of Wilkinsons Hardware Stores from 2006 to 2012. He was previously Managing Director of the Taiwan arm of the Asian retail giant AS Watson. He joined Sainsbury plc as a graduate trainee in 1984 rising up the ranks to become Managing Director of Sainsbury’s Supermarkets in 2003. He is a Non-Executive Director of Enactus UK (formerly SIFE - Students in Free Enterprise UK).


Doug Robertson BA, FCA
Finance Director

Doug Robertson joined the Group in November 2011 and was appointed Finance Director on 1 December 2011. He was previously Finance Director of Umeco plc from 2007 until 2011 and Finance Director of Seton House Group Limited from 2002 until 2007. From 1994 to 2000 he held a variety of Divisional Finance Director roles within Williams plc and, in 2000, became Managing Director of Tesa Group, Chubb’s hotel security division.


Chris Geoghegan BA Hons, FRAES
Non-Executive Director

Chris Geoghegan became a Non-Executive Director in July 2009. He is the Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Prior to his retirement he was Chief Operating Officer of BAE Systems plc with responsibility for all European joint ventures and UK defence electronics assets. He is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society and a past President of the Society of British Aerospace companies.


Jonathan Nicholls BA, ACA, FCT
Non-Executive Director

Jonathan Nicholls became a Non-Executive Director in November 2009 and is Chairman of the Audit Committee. He is a Non-Executive Director of DS Smith Plc and Great Portland Estates plc. Most recently he was Group Financial Director of Old Mutual plc and prior to that he was Group Finance Director of Hanson plc.


 Janet Ashdown BSc (HONS)
 Non-Executive Director

Janet Ashdown became a Non-Executive Director in July 2011. She is a Non-Executive Director of Coventry Building Society and Chair of the charity Hope in Tottenham.  She was until the end of 2012 Chief Executive Officer of Harvest Energy Limited and Blue Ocean Oil Trading Limited, the UK’s largest independent road fuels marketing and import business.  Janet previously worked for BP p.l.c . for 29 years from 1980 to 2009, serving in a variety of posts in the UK, continental Europe and the US ranging from manufacturing to supply & trading to retail marketing.  Her last role in BP was as Head of BPs Fuels Marketing & Distribution business in the UK.  Janet holds a degree in Energy Management.


Mel Ewell, BSc (HONS)
Non-Executive Director

Mel Ewell became a Non-Executive Director on 1 August 2011. He is currently Chief Executive and an Executive Director of Amey Plc, one of the UK's leading infrastructure services providers. He previously held a number of senior management positions for TNT International, Xerox and ADI Group.



Locations Map

Related Links